Meet Alana

Hey, I’m Alana!

I tutor English Language from Year 7 to Year 11 and English Literature from Year 7 to Year 13.

I tutor to help students grow their confidence both academically – through gaining a better grasp of the subject they are being tutored in – and socially – through formulating an entirely new, trusting relationship with me as their tutor. I also tutor to help students with their understanding of the English curriculum (which can be hard and very different to other subjects at times!) I believe that a student’s confidence – in a multitude of areas in their lives – can be enriched if they have a secure understanding of the things they are studying day in, day out. This makes my role as a tutor important beyond a student’s academic studies!

My style of tutoring is adapted to the needs of the student I am tutoring. For example, if I am tutoring a GCSE student who is in need of help with essay writing, my sessions will often take a format in which I assess their current capacity to write, provide them with a model answer and then critique their own writing based on what they have – and haven’t – included based on that answer. Any concepts which a student has been unable to grasp will be run through before the student attempts a new answer which explicitly incorporates at least one of the elements they were missing before.

I aim to make my sessions logically structured and suited to the personality and wants of the student. I also aim to make them as fun as possible (because who really wants a dull lesson?!) Simultaneously, I aspire to achieve the learning objective to make progress towards the student’s academic goals.

And some other important questions… 

  • What’s your background? I’m an English Literature undergraduate student at Lancaster University in my final year of study. Previously, I gained the following grades in my A Levels: A*A*A. Once I graduate, I aim to fill the place I have secured with TeachFirst to teach Secondary English.
  • What’s in your fridge? A lot of halloumi and salmon currently live in my fridge, alongside fruit, veg and cat food for my baby British Shorthair cat!
  • What are your hobbies? I like to lift weights and dress make in my spare time. I also like to read and watch TV.
  • What is a fun fact about you? As previously mentioned, I have a 7 month old British Shorthair called Nellie, and my whole world might as well revolve around her!