Meet Cara

Hey, I’m Cara!

I tutor English to primary and secondary students, including GCSE, and also tutor English as a foreign language. I have helped students from all over the globe prepare for exams, improve their reading and writing skills through exploring literature and creative writing, and become more confident with their communication. I also tutor children and young people in German, Spanish and Portuguese, from beginners level through to preparing for GCSEs.

I believe the key to being successful is to develop a strong passion for learning in the student. One of my biggest passions is languages, so to be able to share that with children and young people from across the globe is a real privilege. I enjoy being part of a student’s learning journey as their tutor, and hope that I can make a difference in how they view the language subjects.

I believe in a holistic approach to tutoring, treating every child as an individual. They should be encouraged to think independently and want to discover new knowledge. Every child is unique, they have different learning styles, interests, strengths and weaknesses, and my tutoring style will adapt to this. 

And some other important questions… 

  • What’s your background? After leaving school, I studied and worked in a variety of areas, including media and journalism and adult nursing. After a break to be a full time mum, I began a BA Open University Degree in English, German and Spanish. Language has since become one of my biggest passions – I’ve even taught my son to speak German and Portuguese! 
  • What’s in your fridge? Well, we’ve just been shopping therefore my fridge is looking very full and green! I do my best to eat healthily; a rainbow of fruit and veg per day is important, and mango is my favourite. I’m a real cheese and marmite lover, so there’s always an abundance of cheese, and of course dark chocolate!
  • What are your hobbies? Exploring the world wherever we are…adventure can be anywhere, including your own back garden! I also love to cook international food; my favourite thing to cook is Thai Massaman Curry. Last year, I began growing fruit, vegetables, herbs and edible flowers – the garden now resembles an organised mess of a jungle, which I love exploring with my son. 
  • What is a fun fact about you? During lockdown, I needed to study something as a hobby, and chose Portuguese. Through using immersive and engaging learning techniques, I managed to learn enough of the language to communicate solely in Portuguese in Brazil and later gained the CELPE BRAS Brazilian Portuguese proficiency certificate.