Meet Gemma

Hey, I’m Gemma!

I tutor English and Maths to both primary and secondary students from Year 1 through to Year 9.

I really enjoyed my own learning when I was at school and became a teacher and tutor so that I could share my enthusiasm and passion. I like supporting students to make progress and seeing that ‘lightbulb’ moment. Tutoring provides an amazing opportunity to teach to a student’s individual needs, target their gaps in learning and identify misconceptions. This all contributes to fantastic progress opportunities and an increase in students’ confidence and self-belief. Through tutoring, children can be given the tools and strategies to become successful, lifelong learners.

I value taking the time to get to know students and build positive relationships. Where possible, I plan activities that are linked to students’ interests and are fun and interactive. I always break down the learning into small steps or chunks so that students have the opportunity to gain a deep understanding of the learning content. I provide appropriate scaffolds to support students depending on their needs and plan carefully selected activities that increase in difficulty. There is always a balance of teacher talk and student talk opportunities.

And some other important questions… 

  • What’s your background? I completed a Modern Languages (French, German and Spanish) BA at the University of Southampton in 2010. After working for a year as a Translation Project Manager, I embarked on a Postgraduate Certificate of Education (PGCE) in Primary Education, also at the University of Southampton.

          I have been a Primary School Teacher for ten years and have worked across both Key Stages from Year 1 to Year 6. I am highly experienced in                  preparing students for SATs in Years 2 and 6. I have led English and Maths across the school at various points in my teaching career.

          Whilst working as a Primary School Teacher, I completed my Masters in Education Leadership and Management and achieved a distinction.

  • What’s in your fridge? I always have lots of fruit and yoghurts in my fridge, and I’m also partial to a chocolate mousse!
  • What are your hobbies? I have a Cocker Spaniel called Lottie, who I enjoy walking. I love reading books and sharing stories with my little girl. I’m a member of the National Trust as I enjoy visiting new and exciting places with my family and learning about the past. I also love spending time by the sea and hope to move closer one day!
  • What is a fun fact about you? During my degree, I spent a year living in Spain and studying at the University of Malaga! It was daunting and overwhelming initially but I am so proud of myself that I was brave enough to complete the year!