Meet Phelisia

Hey, I’m Phelisia!

I teach English and Maths among many other subjects. The students I tutor range in age from Year 1 to year 9.

I have over 20 years teaching experience, predominantly in primary schools  (including SATs preparation) but I have also taught teenagers and adults. Throughout this time, I have taught both the National Curriculum and the IB Primary Years Program.

I love tutoring as I can work with a smaller group or on a 1:1 basis, adapting the lesson to the needs, interests and ability of the children I am working with.  Throughout my lessons, I challenge my students to work to the best of their ability and use lots of praise and encouragement to build their confidence and self-esteem. In a small group, I can create lessons that cater to the children’s individual strengths and learning styles.

As a teacher, I am friendly and patient and I have a relaxed, fun and creative approach to teaching and learning. I love to use a range of interactive strategies to make learning as engaging and purposeful as possible. I am passionate about seeing the children I work with grow in confidence and achieve those important lightbulb moments and providing those I teach the belief that they can achieve anything they set their mind to.

And some other important questions… 

  • What’s your background? I have a First-Class degree in Primary Education with QTS. I also trained in TEFL and taught English at Valencia University and the British Council in Valencia.
  • What’s in your fridge? My fridge has a variety of delights including tofu, veggies, garlic, onion chilli & ginger to make a big spicy stir-fry! Plus, there may be a vegan cheesecake lurking at the back…
  • What are your hobbies? Kick-boxing, walking, drawing & painting portraits, reading and coffee!
  • What is a fun fact about you? I am a certified hypnotherapist and health coach and I used to live and work in Mexico City.