Meet Nell

Hey, I’m Nell!

I love tutoring Science, English and Maths to both primary and secondary students from year 1 through to year 11. However, my main passion lies within the Sciences. I specialise in teaching students whose first language is not English and previously, have also tutored Sociology and Biology A-level. 

Working with children is my passion. I tutor because it is so rewarding to see children reach their full potential whilst having fun learning. My aim is for all students to gain confidence and a genuine interest in their studies and to leave my lessons with a huge smile on their face! I love sharing new ideas, connecting with my pupils and creating an environment where no question is too silly! 

I have a student-centred approach to tutoring and create a positive learning atmosphere. Through patience and encouragement, I ensure all students feel relaxed and comfortable and move at their own pace when learning a new concept. I like to work as a team with parents and children to incorporate their own interests and to adapt lessons to suit their learning style.

And some other important questions… 

  • What’s your background? I am currently studying an Education and Biology honours degree at Keele University. Alongside this, I am working towards my TESOL certification (teaching English to speakers of other languages.) I have previously tutored a range of subjects, including those I did at A-level: Sociology, Biology and Psychology. 
  • What’s in your fridge? Always yorkshire puddings (I love them!) and trifle.
  • What are your hobbies? I do water rescue training for fun with my Newfoundland dog, Ted. I also have a passion for horse riding which I have been doing for 12 years!
  • What is a fun fact about you? I have two dogs (a Newfoundland called Ted and a Jack Russell called Lily) and a grey cat called Lottie, just like the characters from the film ‘Secret Life of Pets’!